skip navigation

1967 Gophers Recognized as Murray Warmath Legendary Team

By MN Chapter of the National Football Foundation, 04/05/17, 7:45AM CDT


MINNEAPOLIS, MN - April 5, 2017 - The 1967 University of Minnesota football team went 8-2 on the way to a Big Ten Championship. The Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation is pleased to announce those Gophers as the 2017 recipients of the Murray Warmath Legendary Team Award, named for their head coach. They will be recognized at the 10 Year Anniversary of the Minnesota Football Honors on May 7.

With a 6-1 conference record, the 1967 Minnesota team shared Big Ten champion status with Indiana and Purdue. The Gophers clinched a tie at the top of the standings with a win against Wisconsin and an Indiana win against Purdue on the final weekend of the regular season. The Gophers were undefeated at home, and undefeated in rivalry trophy games as they claimed the Little Brown Jug against Michigan, Floyd of Rosedale against Iowa and Paul Bunyan’s Axe against Wisconsin.

The Gophers’ scoring defense was the best in the Big Ten, as Minnesota held opponents to 12.0 points per game in conference play. The Maroon and Gold allowed just 10.6 per game overall while averaging 16.3. Minnesota attained a rank of 14th in the final UPI national poll. The Big Ten championship was Minnesota’s second under Warmath.

Individual Gophers earned awards for their part in the team’s success. Defensive end Bob Stein earned All-America First Team recognition from four organizations. He was on the All-Big Ten First Team along with tackle John Williams, tackle McKinley Boston and back Tom Sakal, who was named team MVP. Future Hall of Fame tight end Charlie Sanders and guard Ed Duren made the all-conference second team.

The 10 Year Anniversary of the Minnesota Football Honors will be held Sunday, May 7, 2017 at U.S. Bank Stadium. College and professional football Hall of Fame inductees are scheduled to attend to celebrate the best of Minnesota football. The largest football awards event in the state is presented by the Minnesota Vikings. The event is open to the public. To register or find additional information about this year’s Minnesota Football Honors, please visit For sponsorship information, please email


About the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation:
The Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a local non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and develop the power of amateur football in developing the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, competitive spirit and academic excellence in Minnesota’s young people. The MN Chapter recognizes legendary football icons, college football Hall of Famers and Minnesota’s top high school and college football scholar athletes. For more information, visit, Facebook or Twitter.

Lindsay Lommel, Event Manager
MN Chapter of The National Football Foundation