skip navigation

Becker High School Head Coach Dwight Lundeen To Receive John Gagliardi Legacy Award

By Daniel House, 04/10/24, 1:00PM CDT



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – April 10, 2024 –  Becker head coach Dwight Lundeen has been named this year’s recipient of the John Gagliardi Legacy Award by the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. Lundeen will be honored during this summer’s Minnesota Football Honors television broadcast. 

Dwight Lundeen recently wrapped up his 54th season at the helm of Becker’s football program. Back in 1970, Lundeen, a 22-year-old at the time, first began coaching the Bulldogs. More than five decades later, he is now the second-winningest coach in Minnesota High School football history. Lundeen’s career coaching record currently sits at 399-167-3 through the 2023 season. 

“Dwight is one of the most accomplished and respected high school coaches in our state. He has not only been a very successful coach, but he has impacted countless lives over five-plus decades,” said Todd Fultz, President of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. “We can’t wait to honor Dwight during this summer’s Minnesota Football Honors television broadcast.”

Over the years, Lundeen has served as president and executive committee member of the Minnesota Football Coaches Association, the Minnesota Interscholastic Activities Administrators Association and the Minnesota State High School League. He has also been the High School Liaison to the Minnesota Vikings for the MFCA. In addition to those duties, he is a member of the Vikings High School All-Star Team Selection Committee and the Minnesota Mr. Football Selection Committee. Lundeen was also named head coach of the Outstate All-Star Team in 1994 and 2013.

Dwight has been inducted into the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (2009), Minnesota State High School League (2014), Minnesota Activities Directors (2014) and National Coaches Association (2019) Hall of Fames. In addition, Dwight is a four-time Minnesota Football Coach of the Year and was named Minnesota Athletic Administrator of the Year (2003) and Minnesota Football Coaches Association Man of the Year (2015). Lundeen also received the 2023 AFCA/AFCF Power of Influence Award. 

The John Gagliardi Legacy Award honors the late John Gagliardi, one of the greatest college football coaches of all time. The former Saint John’s head coach made a difference in the lives of many former players, coaches and fans. This annual award carries on his legacy by honoring the top coaches in Minnesota football history.

Minnesota Football Honors is hosting a show to honor this year’s high school, college and Minnesota Vikings award winners. An official broadcast date will be announced at a later date on To view a statewide map of past and present Minnesota Football Honors Award Winners, visit this site. 

Previous John Gagliardi Legacy Award winners: 

  • 2012: George Thole: Stillwater High School 

  • 2013: Ron Stolski: Brainerd High School

  • 2014: George Wemeier: Washburn High School

  • 2015: Dick Hanson: Burnsville High School 

  • 2016: Grady Rostberg: Hutchinson High School 

  • 2017: Dave Nigon: Totino-Grace High School 

  • 2018: George Larson: Cambridge-Isanti High School 

  • 2019: Mike Grant: Eden Prairie High School 

  • 2021: Ross Fortier: Minnesota State University Moorhead

  • 2022: Gerry Brown: St. Thomas Academy 

  • 2023: Mike Mahlen: Verndale High School 


About the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation:

The Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame is a local non-profit organization whose mission is to promote amateur football’s ability to develop leadership, sportsmanship, competitive spirit and academic excellence in Minnesota’s young people. The Minnesota Chapter recognizes legendary football icons, college football Hall of Famers and Minnesota’s top high school and college football scholar-athletes. For more information, visit, or Facebook (@MNFootballHonors) and Twitter (@NFFMN).


Todd Fultz, President - Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation

Phone: (612)-325-5500

Media Contact:

Daniel House, Director of Media Relations and Content

Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation