skip navigation

St. Thomas DB Johnson Fallah Named Stein-Fallon College Scholar-Athlete

By Daniel House, 04/09/24, 12:30PM CDT



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – April 9, 2024 –  St. Thomas defensive back Johnson Fallah has been named this year’s Stein-Fallon College Scholar-Athlete by the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. The award, which highlights outstanding academic, athletic and community service accomplishments, is presented annually to a student-athlete from a Minnesota college or university. Fallah will be recognized during this summer’s Minnesota Football Honors television broadcast. 

“We are excited to honor Johnson for his excellent achievements in the classroom,” said Todd Fultz, President of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. “In addition to his outstanding performance on the field, Johnson has made a profound, impactful mark on the local community. We are looking forward to honoring him during this summer’s Minnesota Football Honors television broadcast.”

Here is a quick snapshot biography for Fallah:

St. Thomas DB Johnson Fallah:

St. Thomas defensive back Johnson Fallah shined in the classroom. Fallah made the Dean’s List six times and earned 2023 Pioneer Football League (PFL) First Team Academic All-Conference honors. He was also named to the 2023 CSC Academic All-District team and qualified for the 2023 PFL Academic Honor Roll. In 2022, Fallah was inducted into the National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society. 

On the field, Fallah, a former Minnesota-Crookston transfer, finished his college career with 111 total tackles (78 solo, 33 assisted), 21 pass breakups, eight interceptions, a pick-six and forced fumble. Fallah’s outstanding play earned him 2023 PFL First Team All-Conference and 2023 Phil Steele Second Team All-Conference (PFL) selections. In addition, following his Week 1 performance, Johnson was named PFL Defensive Player of the Week. That day, Fallah returned an interception for a 37-yard touchdown. He also added six tackles (five solo) and helped the Tommies hold Black Hills State to 41 net rushing yards in a 36-26 victory. 

Fallah also made a major impact in the local community while volunteering at St. Raphael Catholic School and the St. Thomas football program’s St. Jude Up 'til Dawn fundraiser.

Minnesota Football Honors is hosting a show later this summer to honor its high school, college and Minnesota Vikings award winners. Full broadcast details will be announced at a later date on To view a statewide map of past and present Minnesota Football Honors Award Winners, visit this site. 

Previous Stein-Fallon Award Winners include: 

  • 2010: Eric Decker: University of Minnesota 
  • 2011: Isaac Odim: University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • 2012: Brad Kruckeberg: Gustavus Adolphus 
  • 2013: John Rabe: University of Minnesota
  • 2014: JD Mehlhorn: Bethel University 
  • 2015: Tom Obarski: Concordia University-St. Paul
  • 2016: Jon Christenson: University of Minnesota 
  • 2017: Carter Hanson: St. John’s University 
  • 2018: David Franta: St. John’s University 
  • 2019: Will Gallach: St. John's University
  • 2020: Alex Goettl: Minnesota State-Mankato
  • 2021: JD Ekowa: Minnesota State-Mankato
  • 2022: Blaise Andries: University of Minnesota 
  • 2023: John Michael Schmitz (University of Minnesota) and Michael Wozniak (St. John’s University) 



About the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation:

The Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame is a local non-profit organization whose mission is to promote amateur football’s ability to develop leadership, sportsmanship, competitive spirit and academic excellence in Minnesota’s young people. The Minnesota Chapter recognizes legendary football icons, college football Hall of Famers and Minnesota’s top high school and college football scholar-athletes. For more information, visit, or Facebook (@MNFootballHonors) and Twitter (@NFFMN).


Todd Fultz, President - Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation

Phone: (612)-325-5500

Media Contact:

Daniel House, Director of Media Relations and Content

Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation