skip navigation

Bob Hagan To Receive Minnesota Football Honors Sid Hartman Media Award

By MN Chapter of the National Football Foundation, 08/29/23, 8:15AM CDT



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Aug. 29, 2023  – Former Vikings Public Relations Director Bob Hagan has been named this year’s recipient of the Sid Hartman Media Award by the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. Hagan will be recognized during the upcoming Minnesota Football Honors television broadcast. 

“When you ask people about NFL public relations professionals who have made a lasting impact on the league, Bob Hagan is one of the first names you’ll hear. He is incredibly connected, respected and accomplished. Hagan fostered professional relationships with the media and helped them do their jobs at a high level,” said Todd Fultz, President of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. “We are very excited to honor Hagan’s substantial career accomplishments during our Minnesota Football Honors broadcast.” 

Hagan, the former Vice President of Football Communications for the Minnesota Vikings, is one of the most recognizable and respected names in the NFL public relations community. For 32 seasons (1991-2022), Hagan was a cornerstone of the Vikings public relations department. He was responsible for coordinating print and electronic media coverage of the Vikings as well as overseeing the club’s records and historical archives. After the 2017 season, the Vikings PR staff was honored as the Pete Rozelle Award winners, a recognition given annually by the Pro Football Writers of America to the top PR department league wide that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media.

A 1990 graduate of Iowa State University with a bachelor’s degree in mass communications, Hagan was an intern in 1989-91 for KARE 11-TV. In 1991, Hagan served as an intern in the Vikings public relations office under Merrill Swanson and Dan Endy. In 1992, he was hired full time and served as an assistant under Swanson and then Dave Pelletier until his promotion to Director of Public Relations prior to the 1998 season. Hagan was named the Executive Director of Public Relations in 2014. Following the 1998 and 2000 seasons, Hagan accompanied the Vikings staff and helped the NFL with PR efforts at the Pro Bowl. He worked with the NFL PR staff for 19 Super Bowls and served on the Super Bowl LII Communications Committee. 

In 2012, Hagan was Head Coach of the Twin Cities Dunkers, a prestigious service organization founded in 1948 with a sports-centric focus. During his tenure he lined up 19 speakers including Bud Grant, Cris Carter, David Stern, Flip Saunders, Nick Price and Michele Tafoya. Hagan currently serves on the Dunkers Coaching Staff. A Twin Cities native, Hagan is a 1986 graduate of Wayzata High School. Hagan and wife Val reside in Plymouth, with children Matt, Carley and Brad.

“It is really a great honor to receive this award because I grew up reading Sid’s column, listening to him on the radio and then I got a job with the Vikings in 1991. It was very short order into my career that I became close with him and even more close as the years went by,” Hagan said in an interview. “It is quite an honor to get an award named after a great friend of yours. It’s pretty special.”

The Sid Hartman Media Award honors the late Sid Hartman, a Twin Cities media legend for more than 75 years. Minnesota Football Honors is hosting a show to honor this year’s high school, college and Minnesota Vikings award winners. Full broadcast details, including a television airing date, will be announced soon on


About the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation:

The Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame is a local nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote amateur football’s ability to develop leadership, sportsmanship, competitive spirit and academic excellence in Minnesota’s young people. The Minnesota Chapter recognizes legendary football icons, college football Hall of Famers and Minnesota’s top high school and college football scholar athletes. For more information, visit, or Facebook (@MNFootballHonors) and Twitter (@NFFMN).


Todd Fultz, President - Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation

Phone: (612)-325-5500

Media Contact:

Daniel House, Director of Media Relations and Content

Minnesota Chapter of The National Football Foundation