skip navigation

Minnesota Gophers legend Bob Stein to be inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

By MN Chapter of the National Football Foundation, 03/11/20, 11:15AM CDT


The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced Minnesota Golden Gophers legend Bob Stein will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Stein, a two-time All-American, played defensive end at the University of Minnesota from 1966-68. Stein becomes the 21st University of Minnesota player or coach to join the College Football Hall of Fame. He will be recognized at the National Football Foundation Dinner Presented by ETT on Dec. 8 in New York City. 

Stein earned two-time First Team All-Big Ten honors and became one of the most disruptive players in the conference. The Gophers’ star defensive end was a key member of Minnesota’s 1967 co-Big Ten championship team. 

Legendary head coach Murray Warmath developed Stein into a future NFL player. He spent eight seasons in the NFL with the Kansas City Chiefs, Los Angeles Rams, Minnesota Vikings and San Diego Chargers. During his professional career, he won Super Bowl IV and an AFL Championship with the Chiefs.

As a student, Stein received the 1969 National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award and was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. Stein became a Rhodes scholarship semifinalist and earned a degree in Political Science at the University of Minnesota. He also received his law degree at the University of Missouri while playing for the Chiefs. 

After finishing his football career, Stein was the Founding President and CEO of the Minnesota Timberwolves. He also served on boards for the Children’s Cancer Research Fund, Operation Smile Minnesota/Children’s Surgery International, Hunger Related Events, the Minnesota Boxing Commission, Jacob Wetterling Foundation and the University of Minnesota Alumni Association. Stein co-founded the University of Minnesota “Goal Line Club” and is a member of the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association.

Stein has already been inducted into the University of Minnesota Sports Hall of Fame, The Jewish Sports Hall of Fame and the St. Louis Park (Minn.) Athletic Hall of Fame. 

Past College Football Hall of Fame Inductees in Minnesota Football History: 

Bronko Nagurski - 1951

Coach Henry L. Williams - 1951

Edwin Widseth - 1954

Albert Bastin - 1954

Herbert Joesting - 1954

Coach Bernie Bierman - 1955

Richard Wildung - 1957

Francis Lund - 1958

John McGovern - 1966

Edward Rogers - 1968

Robert Marshall - 1971

Bruce Smith - 1972

Paul Giel - 1975

Leo Nomellini - 1977

Frank Tonnemaker - 1980

Bobby Bell - 1991

George Franck - 2002

Thomas Brown - 2003

Carl Eller - 2006

Sandy Stephens - 2011

Bob Stein - 2020